What you need to know to impress your date!

The Presidency, The Executive Branch

Official Presidential Seal

The President is charged by the Constitution with executing or enacting law. The Executive branch consists of the President, Vice President (who is also President of the Senate), and Presidential appointees who head various executive departments. The President is elected every four years; a President may serve only two-consecutive terms of office or a maximum of 10 years in office. President Obama is the 44th president of the United States.

Congress, The Legislative Branch

Official Seal of Congress

Congress is charged with making law; it is bicameral, composed of the House of Representatives (435 members) and the Senate (100 members). Members of the House represent a congressional district and serve for a two-year term. Members of the Senate represent a state and serve for a six-year term. Each chamber has some exclusive powers; for example, appropriations bills must originate in the House. When a bill passes both chambers, the President may sign or veto the legislation. Upon signature, the bill becomes law.

The Supreme Court, The Judicial Branch

Official Seal of the Supreme Court

The Constitution gave judicial power to the Supreme Court and lower federal courts. The courts are charged with interpretting the United States Constitution as well as determining if laws and regulations are congruent with the Constitution. The Supreme Court is composed of nine justices, appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

Important Laws and Documents

The US Constitution outlines the powers and responsibilities of the three branches of government and is a critical and foundational document for the federal government.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s